If You Like Riverdale….

If you have been following me on Twitter at all, you will know that I’m really enjoying Riverdale! (Like many other people…) I was kicking myself at first- I had no idea what it was, it was listed as a new release on Netflix, and I figured I would give it a shot. What I didn’t know was that it was the first day it was available, and the episodes were being added one by one. Even though I try to avoid it and wait until an entire season of a show is available, I’m now back to waiting for the episode to be up on Netflix on Friday morning! So, I went in search of something to feed my Archie, Jughead, Betty, and Veronica fix in the meantime….

if-you-like-riverdale

 If you are anything like me, you grew up reading about Archie and the gang in hundreds if not thousands of comic books. I was lucky- my dad had saved all of his Archies from childhood, so I was able to experience vintage Archie in all of his glory. From a young age, I had to know what Betty and Veronica were up to, what Jughead was eating, what Archie was bumbling through. So, if you want to keep up with the Riverdale and Greendale gangs, look no further!

Sabrina the Teenage Witch screenshot.png

Sabrina, the Teenage Witch

Depending on how old you are, it is entirely possible that you missed out on this gem of a TV show! Running from 1996 to 2003 on ABC and then the WB, you follow Sabrina Spellman from her 16th birthday when she finds out that she is a witch. From getting her Witch’s License and solving the Family Secret to navigating her love life and college, it is a fantastic feel-good sitcom that is the perfect antidote to a stressful day or bout of boredom! If you feel like seven seasons aren’t enough, there are three amazing made-for-tv movies that will make you long for your 90s childhood like nothing else. (Not like the faux 90s looks that everyone is so into right now…) We are to expect Sabrina and her aunts in Riverdale, so this will serve as a happy-go-lucky primer ont he Spellman clan! Bonus points if you gather the clues to the Spellman Family Secret- heads up, you will have to own the Sabrina the Teenage Witch soundtrack CD…

Archies Weird Mysteries screenshot.png

Archie’s Weird Mysteries 

If you are really feeling the mystery side of Riverdale but wish it was in an animated form, well, there’s a show for you! Archie’s Weird Mysteries is only one season long but does have thirty six episodes. I always liked Scooby Doo when I was a kid, but I remember particularly loving the Archie update. And while this is essentially the opposite feeling to Riverdale, sometimes it is nice to get out of the darkness and intrigue and watch Archie bumble his way through various cases and his love triangle with Betty and Veronica. It also maintains the original style of the comic books, so everyone still looks like their classic selves. In case you want to watch it, the entire series is available on YouTube- enjoy!

afterlife-with-archie-01.jpeg.jpg

Afterlife With Archie

One of our good family friends just lent me the first volume of the Afterlife With Archie series, and I’m loving it! This is my first graphic novel and although I wasn’t entirely sure about my feelings at the beginning, it is well worth a read. In this particular series, Hot Dog (faithful canine companion of Jughead) is hit by a car and brought back to life by Sabrina. Little do they know, he’s patient zero in a zombie outbreak in Riverdale! The graphic novels are a lot darker and far more risqué than the original comic books but the stories are so well developed and new characters are blended in well that I think any loyal Archie fan would enjoy this. I did have to do a little bit of catch up reading with the developments in the earlier graphic novels but it’s not strictly necessary to reading Afterlife. This series is pretty close tonewise to Riverdale, so it’s a great starting point!

What are your thoughts on Riverdale? And the bigger question, Betty or Veronica?? 

Until tomorrow,
The Historian!

4 thoughts on “If You Like Riverdale….

  1. Charlotte Graham March 5, 2017 / 6:56 pm

    I think I may be one of the few folks out there who knows nothing about Archie et al other than that it was a comic series about teenagers (I think?). I did love Sabrina the Teenage Witch though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s